Reviews

 

Charlie O

5star

Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

 

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Maison de la Botte in Olonzac. With 3 generations holidaying together there was something for everyone. Very comfortable house with indoor pool and games rooms. Plenty of interesting places to visit in the area and some useful recommendations available in the house. Claire (the Housekeeper) is an added bonus! Welcoming, informative and discrete too. Highly recommended property.

 
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.
 
kahoiles
Geelong, Australia

5star  Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

 

Our dreams of a wonderful French holiday came true when we were lucky to find Maison de la Botte in Olonzac! This beautiful home exceeded our expectations and as an Australian family on an adventurous holiday to the South of France, we felt completely at home as soon as we walked in the front door. Beautiful Claire greeted us on arrival and was so helpful and caring throughout our stay. It was lovely to meet Leo too and get some great advice on what to do in the area. The house is immaculately presented and has delightful french interiors and furnishings. It has everything you could ever want for in a holiday home. We loved every aspect of the house, from the large open family dining & kitchen (where my husband loved testing out his french recipes.... it had every pot, pan & utensil he could ever need), to the "parents retreat" reading room, the gorgeous four poster bed, King bedroom, other bedrooms and bathrooms, stunning garden, (even in late autumn) and huge kids rumpus room ( which gave us many moments of peace as the children "loved" it and spent many hours in there!) We loved the sound of the church bells chiming, walking to the boulangerie every morning for fresh baguettes, opening up the beautiful old shutters in the morning, walking down the local streets and to the wednesday market to buy fresh goodies and cheese. We did lots of adventuring and day trips from our home base but also loved just spending relaxing time at home. We were so lucky to stay for a month and experience the french way of life with our family. It was truly a spectacular holiday and home.....
Memories we will cherish forever and we hope to return again one day.
Kindest Regards Kristie, Andrew, Sascha, Amber & Griffon Hoiles.
(Melbourne, Australia.)

 
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.
 
pippik201...
London, England, United Kingdom
5star   Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
 

This is the most magnificent house I have ever stayed in , the gardens are a delight , and very well laid out , I loved the twinkling lanterns and light's of an evening , the Kitchen is so Beautiful , as is the whole house , Swimming pool was an extra benefit ,

I loved lying on the Hammock just reading ,the house is so big you could get lost in it OH to live in a house like this , getting up in the morning and having coffee and wonderful croissants in the morning ,
Clare the housekeeper is such a wonderful lady , and full of idea's were to go etc ,

We will definitely be back at this wonderful peaceful house , it ticked all the boxes it is just , Superb

  • The property was "as advertised".
  •  
  • I recommend the location.
  •  
  • The property was a good value for the price paid.
  •  
  • The property provided wifi/internet access.
  •  
  • My security deposit was returned on time.

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

 
Philly723
Oxford, United Kingdom
5star    Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
 

Me and my family have been to stay for a few years in a row now - it is an absolutely beautiful house in a really lovely town. The garden, aside from being georgeous, is really well laid out - you can swim, sit in the shade, sit on the veranda, play in the games room. My family likes to hang out together, but separately - so we all go and find a corner somewhere in the day and read a book or swim, and then all gather round the table and have a barbeque in the evening. Sometimes we head down to the bar/cafe, or sometimes walk to the restaurants further down the canal. It is so peaceful and isolated in the garden and house, but with lots of things to do close by. Every year we say we will do something adventurous and rent bikes or go down the canal on a boat, but have never got round to it because it is so nice just to be in the garden. I absolutely love this house, and highly recommend staying there!

  • I recommend the location.
  •  
  • The property provided wifi/internet access.

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

 
 MarkSteph...
Brighton, United Kingdom
5star   Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
 

We had a wonderful week at Maison de la Botte. It is situated in a beautiful part of France with 300 days of sun a year. It was very easy to make friends with the locals who are very friendly. The house itself is stunning and maintained to an excellent standard. Claire looks after the administration of the property and lives two doors down. She is on hand for any requirements and I feel we have made a proper friend in her. I would wholeheartedly recommend this property for a wonderful and fun vacaction with friends and family!

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.
 
 Debbie A
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
 
5star   Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
 

On arrival we were a little anxious on seeing the large metal gates which obscure the property from the road but our concerns were quickly allayed when we were greeted by the lovely Claire (the housekeeper) who opened the gates to reveal the beautiful Maison de la Botte. The house was all we had hoped for, very comfortable and well equipped, and beautifully furnished. The house is very old so, is naturally a little creaky (especially bedroom/bathroom doors) but that just adds to the character. The garden is wonderful and private and we dined al fresco for all our meals, making the most of the barbecue, comfortable loungers and hammock. We did not use the roof terrace or the George Foreman grill which is up there as it was too hot, whereas the garden has both sunny and shaded areas. We also made good use of the well equipped games room, which stays lovely and cool even on very hot days. We paid to have the indoor pool heated, which was expensive, but the weather was much better than we had expected so ended up having to ask for the heating to be turned off half way through our stay. If visiting in summer months I suspect the pool may be warm enough without heating. There is a small supermarket and two bakeries in Olonzac, 5 minute walk from the house, and a larger supermarket 15 minutes walk away or a 5 minute drive. We enjoyed the local weekly market too. We used the pizza restaurant and the Turkish restaurant in Olonzac, both of which were good. Our best meal was at En Bonne Compagnie in nearby Homps which is very pretty and worth a visit for drinks, a meal or a boat trip on the canal du Midi. Homps is a 5/10 minute drive away but can be reached on foot in 30 minutes but be aware that there are no pavements once you leave Olonzac, but the road is not very busy. We visited other towns and villages along the canal and also went to Minerve and Carcassonne, both of which are a must as they are stunning. Claire, the housekeeper, was a delight. She was on hand if we needed anything (e.g beach towels) and also gave advise on places to visit. Nothing was too much trouble. All in all we had a wonderful week in a really beautiful house and as we were blessed with glorious weather, we really enjoyed the outside space too.

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

 
Yasmin A
Paris, France
5star Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
 

Maison de la Botte is a wonderful house, full of charm and a peaceful loving energy. True french character home decorated wonderfully. 
The town is close to go anywhere you need; sight seeing, trips to Spain or even towards Italy to the Riviera, along with the local cities and wonders to visit. 
It is the perfect place to relax alone, or with friends or family. The pool is a lovely bonus to have a warm swim at your leisure. 
The people caring for the property will do anything to make you feel at home and comfortable during your stay, a very kind and loving lady will be at hand to assist you with anything you might need during your stay. 
I will definitely be back, and couldn't recommend it enough.

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

 
Joanne P
Truro, United Kingdom
5star    Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
 

We loved this house. It is hidden in Olonzac behind substantial gates, and once you shut them the whole house is safe and secure. The decor and the furniture are lovely, and the garden is just gorgeous. One of our favourite things was sitting at the table with the twinkley lights on the trees above in the warm summer evening eating supper. The games room is a bonus, we got quite good at table tennis. The pool is refreshing, and the terrace above it was fantastic for lying in the sun and reading with the grapes hanging from the vines and the view of the church. We were well looked after by Claire and Leo who were charming and helpful with any questions and problems. The area is full of things to look at and do. Particular mention must go to Minerve with the Gorge of Brian, and a lovely restaurant in the hotel with the outside terrace overlooking it, and the Cathar castle of Peyrepetuse.

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

 
Linziratc...
5star   Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
 

Where do I start? This house is stunning and so idyllic for a quiet relaxing week in a gorgeous French village. 

This house has it all. Pool, terrace area for catching the French rays, a pretty garden to enjoy in the day and a barbecue for lazy evenings, table tennis, tv and more. 

The house is huge and tastefully decorated in a typical french design. Perfect for a family holiday somewhere peaceful and very private. 

The maid, Claire was fantastic. She really couldn't do enough for us and was only visible when we needed her. She really made our trip extra special.

Looking forward to returning again next year.

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

 
Gareth H
London, United Kingdom
5star   Reviewed February 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2012
 

We had a very relaxing week at the Maison del a botte. The accomodation and grounds are charming providing a peaceful environment that let me relax for the week. The facilities are also great and the town is small but offers everything you need for a chilled out holiday. The staff were attentive and helpful if I we had any questions but we felt like we were left to enjoy the house as if it was our own.

Very pleased to have discovered this hidden gem and would definitely stay there again when visiting the region.

Gareth Hodges

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

 
Paul R
London, United Kingdom
5star  Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2012
 

I strongly recommend Maison de la Botte, we had a wonderful time over our stay. Its ideally situated in the centre of Olonzac but hidden away at the same time. All the facilities are well maintained and Claire who runs the property was always willing to help. I suggest the walk through the vineyards to Lake Jouarres and the try the Crêpes in the small town square.

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

 

 

0
0
0
s2smodern